In the early 1890s, C.W. Post found himself inside a sanitarium in Battle Creek, Michigan under the care of Dr. John Kellogg. During his stay, Post had to adhere to a healthy diet, which included a breakfast food of wheat, com and oats. Based on this experience, Post started a food company in 1895 and advertised its products as a health food. The first was called Postum, a caffeine-free coffee substitute. The first breakfast cereal made by the company was Grape-Nuts in 1897. Over the years, Post has made more than 120 different types of cereal.
Post Toasties originally were sold in 1904 as Elijah’s Manna. They were simply toasted com flakes. Religious groups objected to the use of Elijah as a cereal mascot. With the religious backlash beginning to affect sales, in 1908 Post renamed the cereal Post Toasties.
This artifact is featured in our 2019 tour theme, “What’s for Dinner? Victorian Food and Foodways.” Look for the Post Toasties in the Servants’ Hall. To learn more about this and other objects, please join a tour of the Emlen Physick Estate.